What does it Mean when a grasshopper lands on you?


This morning as I got on the bus going into the city, I sat down and noticed out of the corner of my eye, something green. When I turned my head to look, it was a green grasshopper. It was sitting still on my arm, starring straight at me (at least that’s what I assume!). If you didn’t know, I am terrified of bugs! So my first reaction was to flick it away! I didn’t want to harm it, just to get it off my arm. It landed on the floor not far from me and just stood there. For a while I kept looking at it from the corner of my eye, hoping it wouldn’t hop on me again, but I couldn’t help but smile. Something in my mind was trying to remind me that grasshoppers are a good sign, i just couldn’t remember what it meant. Once I got into the city, I looked up the meaning behind grasshoppers and what it could mean if they are around you or ON you. I found this explanation on Wiki…

“When the grasshopper appears to us we are being asked to take a leap of faith and jump forward into a specific area of life without fear. Usually that specific area is one that we have avoided and is often connected to change on a larger scale. This can represent a change in location, relationships, career or just in the way we perceive ourselves.

Grasshoppers can only jump forward….not backward, or sideways. So, when grasshopper shows up he could be reaffirming to you that you are taking the right steps to move forward in your current situation. Or it could be that he is telling you to go ahead and move forward, getting past what is hindering you. This is why grasshopper is the symbol of good luck all over the world. Grasshopper’s ability to connect and understand sound vibrations is why he is also a symbol of your inner voice. he could be telling you to trust yours.”

Isn’t that awesome?! I guess this explains why I wasn’t completely freaked out by that green bugger! ☺️

Wether this is true or not, I don’t know, but I definitely need to listen to my inner voice and just move forward even though I may be nervous or afraid. 

Thank you for landing on my arm today little guy! 

Jen, xo

She picked up the pieces of her life and created something beautiful. From that day forth she shone like the sun and changed the definition of broken”. -Randall M. Core

2 thoughts on “What does it Mean when a grasshopper lands on you?

  1. That quote you always keep at the bottom…..it always reminded me of a Japanese word that I couldn’t quite recall. I finally did: Kintsukuroi – to repair a broken ceramic vessel with lacquer mixed with gold or silver dust so it looks even more beautiful…:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

