I Think Too Much

  
It’s so exhausting! It’s as if my mind never rests! I’ve been feeling so overwhelmed lately. So many things going on.

 I’m feeling anxious and indifferent about close friendships that seem to be changing. It’s difficult trying to figure out what to do or say to someone you consider a close or best friend. It seems so much more difficult to have close friends as adults, then it was when I was younger.

 I have jury duty next week and that has me nervous. I’ve never done it, so I’m praying I won’t have to serve as an actual juror. My therapist has been making sure we speak about every possible outcome, to try ease my mind about the unknown.

I have school orientation in 2 weeks! Ah! Haven’t been in school for almost 13 years. Not knowing how I will handle it has me worried…

My first day of class is Feb 1st. I’ll be attending Mon-Thurs for a little over an hour a day. I get anxious thinking about it because I’m hoping I will be able to manage my time properly. I need to be able to leave my apt. early enough to walk to my car with my son, drive him to school, then head over into the Bronx so I can make my 9:30a class. If anyone here, has ever driven over the GW Bridge early in the morning, you know it’s nuts! I was thinking to make the drive one morning before classes start, to make sure I make it there on time.

Aside from that, my son has soccer class every Sat now, for 2 months. Then he starts tennis on sat afternoons. On top of that he’ll still be doing karate on Fridays. Talk about exhuasting!

I also have my weekly therapy appoints I have to go to, to try and calm my nerves and all these thoughts running through my head! I need to learn to relax, be IN the moment and just go with the flow of things. I need to continue to pray and keep my faith in the lord that he will give me all the strength and energy I need to handle all these things I’m juggling. 

You guys have the same problem with thinking too much or over thinking? How do you guys cope when your mind doesn’t shut off? 

– Jen

15 thoughts on “I Think Too Much

  1. Having both mania and anxiety, I can relate all to well to racing thoughts about possible future problems infused with doubts about myself and fears about how others feel about me (negative) and how they will react (negative).

    Aside from the medication, the only thing that is breathing meditation. Trying to think myself into calmness only excelerates the problem. Focus on the breath going in, the breath going out.

    Hope things turn out well. Remember, exhaustion will not help, so try to get as much sleep as you can.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your input. You’re right about the breathing. When I’m really anxious I need to inhale deeply and exhale slowly through my nose. Been trying to get more sleep but may have to be in bed earlier. Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello Jen,
    Thanks so much for following my travel blog. It led me back to yours. You definitely have a lot of things coming up in your life, but the best thing is that you’ll have the therapy appointments as support. Your forward planning is also impressive. For example, your idea to drive the GW Bridge in advance is brilliant. Knowing how long the trip will take will eliminate a thing to worry about.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Peggy,
      Thanks so much for your kind words. Forward planning is something I’ve spoken about in therapy that just makes so much sense to me. And thinking about it now, I remember my mom use to do the same with me when I was a teenager. If I had to go some place new, she would take the trip with me so I would know how to get there alone. It’s really helpful to ease at least one thing from my mind. I know in the end everything will fall into place. I just become so nervous and anxious before it all happens.
      Thanks for the follow and your kind words ☺️.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I can definitely relate to this and I’m sorry that you’re going through it! Sometimes I overthink even the simplest of things until it drives me crazy! I think distracting your mind with watching TV, reading, or stretching is a great way to get your mind focused on something else. Sometimes we just need a break from thinking.

    I wish you all the best with school. I know it can be difficult (I didn’t start after 13 years, but I did struggle in college), but you can get through it. Try your hardest to focus on what you’re learning and to get as involved as you can. The more you get involved in what you’re doing, the less you’ll focus on your anxiety. I know that can be a difficult thing to do, but with practice, it really helps! I really believe that you’ll be able to get through this! Think of all the things you’ve been able to do!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you B.G. Your words mean a lot. I know I’m really overwhelmed because even while watching tv I’m still not focusing because I’m in my phone looking stuff up or just have my mind racing. Hopefully once I start in school I will feel much better. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Jen,
    When I find myself thinking too much, I try drawing or coloring an adult coloring book. It’s a productive distraction: the best kind! Hope that helps, good luck with everything 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pretty bad about the anxiety part. Rest all your schedule looks jam packed.
    For being a jury, to be in school after a decade, 1st feb another new day.. These are really amazing opportunities for you to explore yourself more. Take one thing at a time, it will all flow smooth.
    Loved the part of your kid being around sporting arena for the weekends. 😊
    Distracting yourself from overthinking is necessary, probably you should get involved in some other work.. But it will make you tired. Meditation is a key, it will help your mind to get at ease. Breathe easy. Everything is good around. You’ve a lot to explore and not to worry. 😊
    Good Day. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Ankit. They really are opportunities. Thank you for making me realize that. They are opportunities for me to conquer! I know I will get through it all. It’s just exhausting to think about it all. I’m learning to live in the moment. It’s difficult but I know I’ll get it done. I’m happy my son is doing all these sports as well ☺️.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey Jen, thanks for following. I’m glad you did cause it led me right back to you. I also have these thinking and anxiety chronicles…battling with migraines atm. Hopefully your blog will help my healing process faster. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

