Investing in Myself

 
Hey guys!

So I applied to school and was accepted about 6 months ago. I went and declared my major of Social Work, went to the transfer student orientation, saw my adviser and was well on my way. When I went to register for classes however, all of the classes I wanted or needed were taken. Because of that I decided to defer until the Spring semester, that way I can register for classes I actually want, especially because I was not given any financial aid. Once I decided to defer until the Spring Semester, i started to become really anxious. I was worried about not being able to register for Spring. I was worried about not having any money for my classes or books. I was worried of failing. What if I don’t understand what I’m being taught? What if I don’t get accepted into the Social Work program? What if I’m not as good as I hope to be? All of these questions and doubts haunted me on a daily basis. I was driving myself insane and was beginning to feel depressed.

I spoke to my husband about it and he reassured me that it will all work out. I already have my associates degree, which i received 12 years ago, while working and dealing with a stressful home life. So why wouldn’t I succeed now? He told me not to stress about the money I will have to borrow, because I deserve to invest in myself. I know, I have a great husband! Aside from my husband, I prayed to God about all of my anxieties and asked him to help guide me. Help ease my mind. After much debating, stressing, talking, praying, I decided to take out a loan for 2 semesters at a time. It makes me more comfortable taking loans out for a year at a time.

With all of this stress, everything is falling into place. Today I put in my loan application and it was approved! I have money for school guys! I’m very excited but also nervous because I know after I receive my degree, I will have to pay back a couple thousand dollars. I’m trying not to think about it too much though, because in order for me to become a social worker and help those less fortunate, I need to invest in myself. So although I am anxious, I am VERY excited! Now all I need to do is register for classes on Nov 16! Once that is done, I will officially be a college student again :D. I can’t believe I’m finally going back to school! Although I get really anxious about the whole process, I know that it is what I need to do for myself. My son is going to see his mommy doing homework and be proud of me <3. I’m ready for this journey!

9 thoughts on “Investing in Myself

    1. Thank you! School is always stressful, but it is something that must be done. I graduated 12 years ago with my Associates and I’ve been wanting to go back since! lol. Thank you so much for the well wishes. Means a lot ☺️.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

