Blogger Recognition Award

bloggerrecognitionaward-300Getting Through Anxiety has nominated all of her readers for the Blogger Recognition Award. Thanks for this! If anyone has not stopped by her blog, please go on over. She is a great inspiration. She writes about how she tries to over come her anxiety, and many ways on how she has overcome. Many of us can relate to her :).

Here are the rules for the award:

– Post an image of the award.
– Thank the person who nominated you and their blog, and link back to that blog.
– Explain briefly how you started your blog.
– Give a piece of advice to fellow bloggers.
– Nominate other bloggers for the award–as many as you wish, and notify them of their nomination.

How it all started:

I decided to start my blog after finally realizing I needed help for my anxiety, almost 2 years ago. I was having trouble sleeping, always nervous, heart pounding, headaches, sad, crying, shaking. I’ve always suffered from anxiety, but it was getting out of control. I spoke to my husband about it and I decided to go see my general practitioner. He prescribed me zoloft, which ended up making me feel worse, after 4 months. So I went back to him and told him to ween me off the meds and promised I would seek out a psychologist. I dd not want to medicate myself any longer because I wanted to learn to deal with my issues at hand. I found a great psychologist. I started opening up about my fears, worries, frustrations and problems. After a few months I started to change my way of thinking and decided I felt strong enough to share my story with the world. I wanted to start my blog so I can reach other people suffering from anxiety, or any other mental health problem. I want people to understand they are not alone. There are so many of us out here in the Mental Health Community, and together we can bring awareness, change and acceptance.

Advice I’d like to give:

If I could give one piece of advice, it would be to Just Breathe. When you’re feeling anxious, nervous, angry, scared, or depressed, take a deep breathe and realize that you are still here. You are still alive and breathing. Take that moment to slow down your thoughts and ease your tension. Things will get better. Everything in due time.

And the nominees are…

Just like Getting Through Anxiety, I nominate everyone who reads my blog! 🙂 Each and every one of you are different in your own way. You all have such a special quality and a way with words. I’m grateful to have you all read my blog and thank you for allowing me to read yours as well. XOXO

3 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Thank you so much for the compliments! I’m actually on Zoloft now and am not a fan (though I’m not a fan of any medication). You’ve shared some great advice on here and I think your reason for starting your blog is very admirable! Stay strong!

    Like

Leave a Reply

