Working on myself

For the past 2-3 weeks, I’ve been feeling very anxious. During my therapy session this week, with my new therapist, he asked me if I can simply focus on myself. Don’t worry about other people and how they may respond to the things you say or do. How would I feel if I didn’t care about those things. Well I would be happy, I told him. It’s exhausting having my mind make up so many negative thoughts and situations. It’s exhausting trying not to make anyone feel a certain way about me. 

After therapy, I decided to listen to him. I pushed aside a lot of negative thoughts. I slapped a smile on my face and tried my best not to worry about things. I’ve been focusing on not going on social media as much. I don’t want to be glued to my phone, just scrolling and having my mind wonder. I want to be in the moment; in the here and now. 

The weather has been so much nicer lately, so I get my son and I ready earlier and take him for bike rides. I head to the gym with my friend and yesterday I went to Yoga, after a long time not going. I really needed the peace and quiet. I needed the stretches and deep breathing. I left from that class feeling fantastic! I even practiced some poses at home that night. 

Making a conscious effort to worry about myself and be in the Now, with my son and husband is really paying off. I haven’t been so stuck on negative thoughts and making up situations in my head. I need to continue not worrying about everyone else and focus on myself. My family needs me happy & healthy! ☺️ 

   

Leave a Reply

