Just because you took longer than others, doesn’t mean you failed.



We should never compare your lives with other people. We all get to our destinations at different moments in our lives. There are times when I wish I could have gotten help for my anxiety years ago, but I’ve realized that it’s ok. I wasn’t ready to face my demons back then. The fact that I have gotten help in recent years and still continue to better myself, is all that matters. I feel happier, more confident. I’ve reached my goals at my own pace. It doesn’t make me a failure at all, it just means my journey is different then yours. So please, go about your life, without comparing it to someone else’s. You will reach your goals when you are suppose to. Always believe in yourself and know that everyone in this world has their own journey to travel.

2 thoughts on “Just because you took longer than others, doesn’t mean you failed.

  1. I love this sort of thinking. Anxiety (like, severe anxiety) runs heavily on my mom’s side of the family, while depression is a major component of those on my father’s end. My maternal relatives tend to look to religion, while my paternal kin believes the best cure lies in ignoring the issue. I chose to do neither of these, which brought about some pretty serious tension. In deciding my own path, though, I was able to discover things about myself that weren’t tied to the threat of Hell or of stigma. Thank you for this post: it makes me feel affirmed.
    – Sami

    Like

    1. You’re welcome. I’m so glad you’ve found your way, the best way you know how! I am also religious. I’m christian, but I believe that I need to pray while also making sure that I am doing everything in my power to help better myself as well. I don’t just pray and leave it at that. Everyone has their own way of handling their anxieties in this world :). What works for you may not work for your family & vise versa. As long as you are happy and trying, then that’s important. My family also suffered from anxiety and depression. They don’t really try to figure themselves out though. They live with it and as tough as that can be, it’s what makes them comfortable.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

