Learning & Changing

Volunteering at a homeless shelter once a week, going out with friends at least twice a month, driving all around NYC & NJ, signing up for a gym, taking a dance class with my husband, researching schools and actually asking for a job application. These are all of the things I have accomplished since starting therapy a few months ago.

I feel like a completely different person! My anxiety has diminished tremendously and I have to say, I am very proud of myself. I feel a lot more comfortable in my own skin. I don’t let things bother me as much and I just go about my day. I have learned that my anxiety and fear of judgment was keeping me mostly in doors and always wanting to do things, without never really doing them. Now, no matter how nervous I may feel about doing something or trying something new, I make myself do it anyway. What’s the worst that can happen?! If we never try new things or go outside our comfort zone, we will always wonder “what if”. I don’t know about you, but I no longer want to live that way.

Take it one step at a time. You don’t have to try everything at once. Baby steps. The first thing I did after speaking to my therapist was take time out for myself. Being a stay at home mother and wife, I didn’t have a lot of “me” time. So I made sure to go get a mani/pedi once a month and meet up with my girlfriends whenever we could meet up. Once I started doing that I realized how great it was to be able to have a grown up conversation without the interruption of my 3 year old. After that I started researching volunteer opportunities, and the rest came later. One thing at a time.

Trust me, you will be so proud of yourself. Make the time and you will learn so much about yourself. The most important one being that you will learn that you are capable of so much more! You can do it! Just Keep the faith and keep on pushing!

20140805-115115-42675375.jpg20140805-115115-42675237.jpg20140805-115115-42675312.jpg20140805-115115-42675442.jpg

2 thoughts on “Learning & Changing

Leave a Reply

